25 Alumni Named to Georgia Trend’s ‘100 Most Influential Georgians’

Georgia Trend magazine’s annual list of the state’s most powerful and influential citizens who affect the lives and livelihoods of all Georgians has been released. The final list reflects one hundred citizens who reflect leadership, power, and influence in Georgia. This year, twenty five University of Georgia graduates have been recognized for their achievements.

Congratulations to the following alumni on this impressive accomplishment:

Dan Amos (BBA ’73), Chairman and CEO, Aflac Inc, 2011 Bulldog 100 Honoree

Charlie Bethel (BBA ’98, JD ’01), State Senator, District 54, 2013 40 Under 40 Honoree, University of Georgia Blue Key Honor Society’s Young Alumnus Award

Gary W. Black (BSA ’80), Commissioner, Georgia Department of Agriculture

Chris Carr (BBA ’95, JD ’99), Commissioner, Georgia Department of Economic Development, 2011 40 Under 40 Honoree

Nancy Denson (BBA ’90), Mayor, Athens-Clarke County, UGA Alumni Association Big Dawg Award, UGA Arch Award

Jennifer Frum (PHD ’09), Vice President for Public Service and Outreach, University of Georgia

Steve Henson (AB ’81), Minority Leader, State Senate

Henry “Hank” M. Huckaby (PHD ’06), Chancellor, University System of Georgia

Johnny Isakson (BBA ’66), U.S. Senator

Jan Jones (ABJ ’80), Speaker Pro Tempore,Georgia House of Representatives

Brian Kemp (BSA ’87), Secretary of State, State of Georgia

Hala Moddelmog (MA ’81), President and CEO, Metro Atlanta Chamber, 2015 Bulldog 100 Honoree, 2015 Alumni of Distinction

Jere W.  Morehead (JD ’80), President, University of Georgia

Charlotte Nash (BBA ’75), Chair, Gwinnett County Board of Commissioners, President of the ACCG

Jay Powell (JD ’77), State Representative, District 171

David Ralston (JD ’80), Speaker of the Georgia House of Representatives

Robert Reichert (BSA ’78), Mayor, Macon-Bibb County

Earl V. Rogers (BBA ’76), President and CEO, Georgia Hospital Association

David Shafer (AB ’88), President Pro Tempore, Georgia Senate

Lynn Smith (BSED ’68), State Representative, District 70, Instrumental in the development of the Legislative Environmental Policy Academy at the University of Georgia’s Carl Vinson Institute of Government

Kessel D. Stelling Jr. (BBA ’78), Chairman and CEO, Synovus, University of Georgia Blue Key Honor Society Award

Lee Thomas (ABJ ’87), Deputy Commissioner, Georgia Film, Music and Digital Entertainment Office

Trip Tollison (AB ’95), President and CEO, Savannah Economic Development Authority

Judson Turner (AB ’77), Director, Georgia Environmental Protection Division, 2011 40 Under 40 Honoree

J. Alvin Wilbanks (BSED ’64, MED ’68), CEO and Superintendent, Gwinnett County Public Schools

For more information about the honorees, click here.